Monopoly Here & Now: The World Edition

Monopoly Here & Now: The World Edition by EA is a great game, after you can get past the bugs, and somewhat predictable AI, and the somewhat steep price ($7.99 at time of review).

Everyone knows what Monopoly is, and how to play it, so I’m not going to waste any time there. The Here & Now edition changes the nice, familiar Boardwalk and Park Place into Montreal and Riga. They even change the simple pieces into baseball gloves and windmills. Hey, if you got a thing for windmills, this might just be your game, as the windmill actually flies up to the next property on it’s turn.

When I purchased this game, I had a bit of trouble getting past the loading screen. I restarted my iPhone 3G several times, and still Monopoly crashed each and every time. After much frustration, I swallowed my pride and asked on a forum, how the hell do I get it to load, after thinking I just ate my 8 bucks. It turns out, I had to go to the settings of my iPhone, and make sure my language was set properly. Very strange, and unexplainable bug.

Gameplay with an AI is good, as three different levels of difficulty are at your fingertips. The first level AI is a bit predictable, allowing me to trade some crap to it, and allow me to get a monopoly.

I’d say that overall, it really does deserve the 300+ reviews on iTunes with an average rating of 3 1/2 stars.

 

Pros and Cons

~Pros~
Great overall gameplay
Nice graphics
Wifi gameplay
Gives stats for a specific property

~Cons~
Very buggy if some settings aren’t exact.
Predictable AI
Slightly steep pricetag.

 

Screenshots

Menu
Board

Property Stats

bleu

~ by lepigeonbleu on December 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
